Skip to main content

African Art: Databases @Lourdes Library

This guide will help you locate resources on African art.

OhioLINK Databases

To access OhioLINK databases off campus please enter your name and library barcode.

Great Zimbabwe (11th–15th century)

One of the eight soapstone bird sculptures found at Great Zimbabwe. Photo courtesy of Great Zimbabwe National Monument.

Department of Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas. "Great Zimbabwe (11th–15th century)". In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/zimb/hd_zimb.htm

(October 2001)


 

 

Database Strategies

Not all databases are the same but many have similar features. Look for the following:

CREATE AN ACCOUNT in order to save articles, retrieve, or share your research at a later time or location.

SUBJECT AND KEYWORD searches are not the same. Each database uses its own controlled vocabulary list for subjects. Keywords are usually found in titles, abstracts, subjects... If you search by keyword narrow the results by sugested subjects, ifavailable.

Full text through LinkSource displays where the article is located full text in another database, or if it is in print in the library.

GUIDES, help, documentation are all names of links to display the features of the particular database.

CITATION styles help with your reference or bibliography page. Cut and paste to an existing Word document, or save to your account to view later.

WHAT'S NEW Text to speech function is available in some databases. Have it read to you!

BUT I NEED RESEARCH ARTICLE Look for options to limit your results to research articles if that's what you need.