LibGuides: Japanese Art: Internet

Internet Sites

Art Cyclopedia
Artcyclopedia -- provides references to sites on the World Wide Web where artists' works can be viewed online. The vast majority of the fine artists in this database specialize in painting and sculpture.

more...less...
Search by artist's name, artworks, title. Browse by name, medium, subject, nationaltiy, women artists, art movements.
Includes general fine art links.

Useful Web Resources

Art History Resources on the Web
An extensive hierarchical directory to online materials relating to art, and art history. The main directory is split into nine broad time/topical categories. Links to museums and galleries worldwide, as well as some information on prints and photography are provided. Japanese Art links are listed on the Site Index page.
Floating World of Ukiyo-e: Shadows, Dreams, and Substance
The Japanese artform Ukiyo-e ("pictures of the floating, or sorrowful, world") is featured in this online exhibition of prints, books, and drawings from the seventeenth through nineteenth centuries, from the Library of Congress collections.
Kunisada and Kabuki
This online exhibition of Japanese woodblock prints is devoted to depictions of Kabuki actors by the artist Kunisada, later known as Toyokuni Utagawa. Woodblock printing was part of the cultural phenomenon, the "floating world" of pleasure ...
Timeline of Art History
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. Contents: world maps, timelilnes, thematic essays, works of art, indexes

more...less...
Contents: world maps, timelilnes, thematic essays, works of art, indexes
Universes in Collision: Men and Women in Nineteenth Century Japanese Prints
Images and annotations of nineteenth century Japanese prints by Utagawa Kunisada, Utagawa Kuniyoshi, Tsukioka Yoshitoshi, and Katsukawa Shunsen, exploring "the relationship between men and women."

Web Searching Strategies

Document the Source Most writing styles require certain information for citing Web sites. When keeping notes write the URL, the date you accessed and the description of the site. If the URL changes you may need to search for it later.

Evaluate the Web site Don't believe everything you read!

Google Scholar If you need to use the Internet for research use limits under <More> on Google home page or try the Google Scholar link in the box on this page.

Web search engines Not all search engines (Google, Yahoo!, Bing, Ask.com, etc.) are the same. Each has strengths and weaknesses. Search engines do not search all of the Internet.

Wikipedia is not a scholarly Web site but it may be a starting point for definitions or to help identify names when you haven't a clue where to begin.

Additional Art 445 Web Sites

A – Z Photo Dictionary: Japanese Buddhist Statuary

Sister Sharon Havelak has suggested these additional Web Sites for students studying Japanese Art.

Please pay special attention to the site with information about writing an art history paper.