Skip to main content

Faculty tips: EBSCO Databases

Archive of monthly email tips to faculty about library resources.

What you can do

Many of you are familiar with searching an EBSCO database. Students learn how to cite, print, or email an article through the database tools. But, there are a few options that they do not use because they search by key words and find articles by browsing a result list that appears. If your students are having trouble finding appropriate articles suggest they come to the library for help.

Contact me if you need a one-on-one session to better utilize these databases for your own research, or to prepare for a class assignment

 

More Feautures

Across the top of each search screen are other features specific to that database, such as:

  • Author profiles
  • Cited references
  • Company information / profiles
  • Images (e.g. graphs from articles)
  • Videos

Options when using EBSCO databases

Subject or Thesaurus: Each database has a controlled vocabulary list that enables searching by subject instead of key word. Looking at this list may give ideas for other search terms or help discover proper terms to use in a particular database.

MyEBSCOMy EBSCO:Create an account in EBSCO to compile a list of articles that will reappear at your next session. 

 

  • Create this account while on-campus. It will then be possible to access it again when they are off-campus.
  • Share folders that contain articles between people. This is great for group projects.
  • Look smart  by sharing a folder of suggested articles with your class to get them started on appropriate research.

Search history: Keep track of search terms, limits, and results from a session. If students are asked to report how they researched they can print that page, or save it for later sessions. Alerts are also available for new articles on a search you’ve run, or when the next issue of your favorite journal is added to the database. If you are doing your own research ‘alerts’ save time for locating newly published research.

Mobile: A mobile version of the site will display on a smart phone. This gives you access to your folders as well as eBooks.

And, did you know you can search multiple EBSCOhost databases at one time?

 

What do you think?

What do you think?
Yes, this page was helpful.: 0 votes (0%)
No, this page was not helpful.: 0 votes (0%)
I am not sure yet if this page will be helpful.: 1 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 1