Skip to main content

Faculty tips: EBooks

Archive of monthly email tips to faculty about library resources.

About Lourdes' Electronic Books

EBooks are available through library resources in a variety of platforms. The books can be found by searching:

  • Through the OPAL catalog by title, key word or subject and find ebrary and EBSCO titles.
  • Specific databases for eBooks, such as: ebrary EBSCO eBook Collection, Gale Virtual Reference, Oxford Scholarship, Safari Books Online.
  • The Discovery Service with its one box searching will find articles and  eBooks. Limit results to eBooks. Some titles purchased by another OhioLINK library may not be full text to Lourdes patrons.

Each database will display the text according to its own interface:

  • There are different options for viewing, such as PDF or ePub.
  • Some books can be downloaded for a limited time.
  • Printing options vary across the databases.
  • Not all books are available for multiple users; some have single user check out limits.

The library subscribes to eBook collections. Not all titles are permanently owned by our library. Though some titles can be purchased to keep in our collection, availability will depend on the publisher and the platform.

 

 

Challenges and Issues

For the book lover: I need/want to hold it and turn the pages!

For the academic community: "...convenient sources from which to extract information for their scholarly endeavors"

For the librarian: promotion and access

For the student: availability and discoverability... Is it really a book or just more online content?

 



What you can do

When requesting books for library puchase you can request the title as an eBook. If available for our database platforms electronic purchase may be an option.

When creating lists of suggested readings for class, add persistent links to an eBook title to direct students to the electronic text.

 

Tools/Feautures

  • Search for words or phrases within books or chapters
  • Citation formatting help
  • Safari, EBSCO and ebrary have iOS and Android apps
  • Options for highlighting and note taking
  • Look up definitions or search the Web from the text

What do you think?

What do you think?
Yes, this page was helpful.: 0 votes (0%)
No, this page was not helpful.: 0 votes (0%)
I am not sure yet if this page will be helpful.: 1 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 1

Open source