LibGuides: Spirituality and Nursing: BOOKS and EBOOKS

Books

Consult the index of the book for exact pages on the topic.

Religion : a clinical guide for nurses by Elizabeth Johnston Taylor
Call Number: 201.66 R27t
ISBN: 9780826108609
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Information about various faiths and religious practices and ways nurses can use spirituality to enhance patient care.
Religion, Religion Ethics, and Nursing by Marsha D. Fowler
Call Number: 201.66 R27
ISBN: 9780826106636
Publication Date: 2011
Exploration of how theories, history, and theologies shape the discipline, bioethical decision making, and the perspective of the nurse or patient. (back cover)
Spirituality in Nursing: Standing on Holy Ground by Mary Elizabeth O'Brien
Call Number: 610.7301 Ob6
ISBN: 9780763746483
Publication Date: 2007
An historical perspective of nursing and spirituality, the nurse's role, and the spiritual needs of patients and their families.

EBooks: browse the chapters or search by intervention or illness.

Healing Presence by JoEllen Goertz Koerner
Call Number: Electronic and Print: 610.73 K81
ISBN: 9780826107541
Publication Date: 2011-
The work's value comes from its integration of scientific, creative, and spiritual philosophies as a core context for the complex nurse-patient interaction involved in the promotion of a healing environment. See: spiritual dimensions of nursing p.95-100.
Making Health Care Whole by Christina Puchalski
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9781599473710
Publication Date: 2011
Why spirituality in palliative care -- Guidelines/preferred practices for spiritual care -- Spirituality : defining the concept -- Background : historical context of spirituality in palliative care -- Professional standards for spiritual care -- Spiritual care models -- Spiritual history taking and assessment of patients and families -- The spiritual treatment or care plan -- and more.
Making Sense of Spirituality in Nursing and Health Care Practice by Wilfred McSherry
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9781846425301
Publication Date: 2006
This new edition of an established introductory guide to spirituality and health care practice draws extensively on case studies illustrating the application of theory to practice. It encourages the exploration, through reflective activities, of what spirituality means, both to patients and to the healthcare professionals caring for them.
Religion by Elizabeth Johnston Taylor
Call Number: Electronic and Print: 201.66 R27t
ISBN: 9780826108616
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides accessible and comprehensive information about various religions, offering nurses insight into their patients' religious beliefs and practices and thereby enhancing therapeutic care.
Spiritual Dimensions of Nursing Practice by Verna Benner Carson
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9781599472577
Publication Date: 2009
Includes chapters on: Spirituality: identifying and meeting spiritual need -- The psychospiritual lives of ill or suffering children and adolescents: what we should know, what we should do -- Adult spirituality for people with chronic illness -- Spirituality and elder care -- Spirituality in death and bereavement -- and more.
Spirituality in Hospice Palliative Care by Paul Bramadat (Editor);
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9781438447773
Publication Date: 2013
Includes a chapter: Spiritual care in nursing: following patients and families' view of a good death
Spirituality in Nursing by Barbara Barnum
Call Number: Electronic and print 610.7310 B26
ISBN: 9780826105844
Publication Date: 2010
Spiritual versus religious orientations -- Levels of spiritual development : what happens when the nurse and patient differ? -- And more... See also pages 91 and 123.
Spirituality in Patient Care by Harold G. Koenig
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9781599472287
Publication Date: 2009
Why include spirituality? -- How to include spirituality -- When to include spirituality -- What might result -- Boundaries and barriers -- When religion (or spirituality) is harmful -- Chaplains and pastoral care -- Spirituality in nursing care -- Spirituality in social work -- Spirituality in rehabilitation -- Spirituality in mental health care -- A model course curriculum -- Information on specific religions -- Summary of key points.

Strategies

FIND A BOOK in Duns Scotus Library by searching in the online catalog and noting the Dewey decimal call number.

LIMIT TO THOSE NOT CHECKED OUT will display only books in the library, not ebooks. Check this box to narrow the search results to find items on the shelves.

BROWSE the stacks (book shelves) to serendipitously find other books.

DEWEY NUMBERS for NURSING AND SPIRITUALITY include: 610.7301

DEWEY NUMBERS for RELIGION AND NURSING include: 201

E-Book strategies

Ebrary E-books (Electronic Resources)

Access e-books through titles linked in catalog.
Search by keyword, author, title, or subject.
Subject Searching: difference between keyword and subject.
Browse contents, bibliographies, indexes online.
For reference and bibliographical purposes save searches in "BookShelf" folders.

The E-books link on library home page will take you to a list of electronic book databases.

Other E-books from OhioLINK databases include:

Ebrary Ebooks
Electronic Book Center (scholarly, reference, literature, Bible, Shakespeare)
Ebsco Ebook collection on many academic subjects before 2004.
Gale Virtual Reference (quick reference, religion, history)
Oxford Reference Online (dictionaries, general reference, language and subject reference)
Safari Books Online (computer science, information technology, business)