Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Capital Punishment: All Points of View on the Death Penalty
This site "deals with the execution of criminals found guilty of having committed serious crimes. ... Most democracies in the world have abandoned the death penalty. The U.S. and Japan and South Korea are the only exceptions."
Equal Justice Initiative
EJI is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.
Amnesty International (AI) USA's death penalty abolition page has news and reports relating to worldwide use of capital punishment. Features fact sheets; developments, by country; and international human rights standards, beginning with the Universal ...
Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC)
Includes a database of all executions since 1976, searchable by name, year, age, race, gender, location, method of execution, and special factors. Also provides reports on issues such as innocence, juveniles, mental illness, and costs....
Death Penalty News & Updates
Includes information on current executions in the United States, death penalty-related news, statistics on executions by state, statistical summaries, and more. The site is against the death penalty and provides information on contacting U.S. law makers....
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). This database provided by the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
"Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.
There have been 273 post-conviction DNA exonerations in United States history. Browse and search Innocence Project Case Profiles.
Web Searching Strategies
Document the Source Most writing styles require certain information for citing Web sites. When keeping notes write the URL, the date you accessed and the description of the site. If the URL changes you may need to search for it later.
Evaluate the Web site Don't believe everything you read!
Google Scholar If you need to use the Internet for research use limits under <More> on Google home page or try the Google Scholar link in the box on this page.
Web search engines Not all search engines (Google, Yahoo!, Bing, Ask.com, etc.) are the same. Each has strengths and weaknesses. Search engines do not search all of the Internet.
Wikipedia is not a scholarly Web site but it may be a starting point for definitions or to help identify names when you haven't a clue where to begin.