Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Searching Strategies
Document the Source Most writing styles require certain information for citing Web sites. When keeping notes write the URL, the date you accessed and the description of the site. If the URL changes you may need to search for it later.
Evaluate the Web site Don't believe everything you read!
Google Scholar If you need to use the Internet for research use limits under <More> on Google home page or try the Google Scholar link in the box on this page.
Web search engines Not all search engines (Google, Yahoo!, Bing, Ask.com, etc.) are the same. Each has strengths and weaknesses. Search engines do not search all of the Internet.
Wikipedia is not a scholarly Web site but it may be a starting point for definitions or to help identify names when you haven't a clue where to begin.
Over 600 books and 900 short stories presented in unabridged versions that one can "can read, search, and annotate." The collection is mostly fiction, short stories, and poetry and includes children's literature. Browsable by author, title, or type of work. All works are in the public domain and may be read online or downloaded. Free registration is required for downloading and annotating.
How to: Literary Criticism
Annotated links to "critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. The collection is not inclusive of all the work on the web, nor does it plan to be.
This IPL pathfinder is designed to help students in researching and writing a paper that requires sources of literary criticism. Literary criticism is the evaluation, analysis, description, or interpretation of literary works.
"Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating." Website of Project Muse
Queer & Identity Theory
This site is an archive of information on queer and identiy theorists, including Michel Foucault and Judith Butler.
The Literature Network
This site includes the text of "over 300 full books and over 1000 short stories and poems by over 90 authors" and "over 8500 quotes." Locate materials by browsing a list of authors. Searchable within works of each author.
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
A guide to some major schools of critical theory; provides examples of their usage. Features links to other critical theory sites.
Voice of the Shuttle
A directory of briefly annotated "links to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet," including disciplines that "interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media." Searchable; and browsable by discipline, and resource (including teaching resources, libraries and museums, and reference). From the University of California, Santa Barbara.