LibGuides: History Primary Sources: Periodicals

Online Newspapers

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: Freedom's Journal
Freedom's Journal was the "first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. The Journal was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829. ... All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Visitors to this website may "search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

HarpWeek
HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857-1871) as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.

Internet Library of Early Journals
A joint project ot the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford to digitize substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals

Newspaper Source
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.

The Stars and Stripes, 1918-1919
"From February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919, by order of General John J. Pershing, the United States Army published a newspaper for its forces in France, The Stars and Stripes. This online collection, presented by the Serial and Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress, includes the complete seventy-one-week run of the newspaper's World War I edition." Searchable and browsable. From the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress.

American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Classic Computer Magazine Archive
This site presents the full text of early personal computing magazines, including images and advertisements. Includes dozens of issues from the 1970s to the early 1990s from Antic, STart, Hi-Res, Creative Computing, Creative Computing Video and Arcade Games, Compute!, and Tandy Computer Whiz Kids. Also includes brief biographies of Antic and STart writers. Searchable and browsable.
The Paris Review: The DNA of Literature
An archive for hundreds of "Writers-at-Work" interviews "with poets, novelists, playwrights, essayists, critics, [and] musicians," previously published in the literary journal The Paris Review, starting in the 1950s
The Picture Collection Online
From the New York Public Library, this is a "collection of 30,000 digitized, public domain images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. It consists of images of New York City, Costume, Design, American History" and more than 12,000 other subjects. It is searchable by "keyword or by browsing a variety of indexes."

SEARCH WITHIN this journal or publication is a feature that is similar in many databases.

PERIODICALS include

FULL TEXT

CITATIONS

As you do research keep track of bibliographic information
One source of online help is Son of Citation
DOI (Digital Object Identifiers) are available for articles from online journals. This keeps the url of the article fixed. The DOI will continue to direct the user to the article when it is moved. A DOI lookup form is available.

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

419-824-3797