LibGuides: Art &amp; Music: Journal Resources

Journals: Fine Arts and Music Education Resources

Educational Philosophy & Theory
Publishes articles on any aspect of educational philosophy & collateral areas concerned with the fundamental issues of education.

Full Text: 04/01/1997 to 12/01/2012
General Music Today
Contains articles on emerging trends, effective teaching ideas, & new material for teaching general music at all levels.

Full Text: 09/01/2003 to present
Music Educators Journal
Original articles about all phases of music education in schools and communities, professional philosophy and practical techniques and current teaching and learning aimed at all persons engaged in music teaching or other music educational work.

Full Text: 01/01/1990 to present

Journals: Aesthetics & Art Theory Resources

Art Bulletin
Art History

Full Text: 03/01/1975 to present
Art History
Original articles relating to all aspects of the historical and theoretical study of painting, sculpture, design and other areas of visual imagery.

Full Text: 03/01/1981 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Educational Philosophy & Theory
Publishes articles on any aspect of educational philosophy & collateral areas concerned with the fundamental issues of education.

Full Text: 04/01/1997 to 12/01/2012
Journal of Aesthetics & Art Criticism
Articles on all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophic, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint, including those of psychology, sociology, anthropology, cultural history, art criticism and education.

Full Text: 09/01/1974 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Leonardo
A professional journal for working artists to write about their own work.

Full Text 02/01/1968 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Leonardo Electronic Almanac
Covers Media Arts Facilities and Projects; Profiles of Artists using new media; Feature Articles comprised of theoretical and technical perspectives; and reviews of publications, events and exhibitions.

Full Text: 01/01/2010 to present
Leonardo Music Journal
Features the latest in music, multimedia art, sound science and technology

Full Text: 12/01/1997 to 12/02/2020
Museum International
Offers information about the many aspects of museum life: collections, exhibitions, community outreach programmes, and profiles of unusual institutions and personalities.

Full Text: 1997 to 2018.

Composers...

"By the cigars they smoke, and the composers they love, ye shall know the texture of men's souls."

John Galsworthy Indian Summer of a Forsyte

Strategies

SEARCH WITHIN this journal or publication is a feature that is similar in many databases.

Perform a basic search by adding your term to the journal title
Perform an advanced search by adding terms in multiple search boxes
Choose where to search for your terms... author, subject, text, etc.

PERIODICALS include

Journals : scholarly, academic, peer-reviewed
Popular magazines and newspapers
Trade or professional interest

FULL TEXT

Some publishers restrict full text publication for 12 months
If not full text try FIND IT or REQUEST AN ARTICLE

CITATIONS

As you do research keep track of bibliographic information
One source of online help is Son of Citation
DOI (Digital Object Identifiers) are available for articles from online journals. This keeps the url of the article fixed. The DOI will continue to direct the user to the article when it is moved. A DOI lookup form is available.

Ralph Vaughn Williams'"Job," a masque for dancing was inspired by William Blake's engravings for "The Book Of Job."

http://www.wga.hu/html/b/blake/09job.html