Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary or Secondary Source, or Both?
Philosophy & Religion Sources
" In philosophy and religion, your main primary source is usually the text you are studying, and your data are the words on the page. In such fields you can rarely write a research paper without using primary sources."
(Wayne C. Booth et al. The Craft of Research. Univ. of Chicago Press, 2008)
Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive
Contents: Pre-Qin texts. Song through Mid-Qing Texts, Late Qing & Republic Texts
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The collection has searchable texts of many Wesstern classics in philosophy and classical Christian theology.
Marxists Internet Archive
MIA contains the writings of 592 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, generally spanning the past 200 years.
Milestone Documents of World Religions: Exploring Traditions of Faith Through Primary Sources
The "Milestone" book is available from OhioLINK. It "pairs excerpts from ninety-four primary source documents and sacred texts with expert analysis from seventy contributors."
Perseus Digital Library
Collections:Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome;Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser;Sources on the history of the 19th-century United States;Primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature;Issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch.
Philosophy Collection - EServer
This sites provides English translations of writings of Aristotle, Derrida, Descartes, Hume, Kant, Lao Tse, Mill, Pascal, Plato, Rousseau.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). This library has both primary and secondary resources.
The Internet Classics Archive
The Internet Classics Archive has recently been extensively updated and more than doubled in size. This premier classical literature resource now offers 375 works by 30 classical authors, in English translation