LibGuides: Primary Sources: Social Sciences

Sociological Research Process

Social Sciences (Psychology, Education, Sociology)

Primary sources for the social sciences are articles or papers which describe experiments or studies conducted by reseachers written by the researchers themselves. Census figures, opinion polls, surveys, lab measurements, and interview transcripts are also primary sources. Research articles are peer reviewed, follow a standard format and include:

Abstract
Key words
Methods and Materials
Taables/graphs/charts
Results
Discussion
Conclusion
References

Note: Refer to "BUT I NEED A RESEARCH ARTICLE'" under "Database Strategies" for an outline of a research article.

Social Sciences Sources

Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences (Data-PASS
The Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences (Data-PASS) is a voluntary partnership of organizations created to archive, catalog and preserve data used for social science research. Examples of social science data include: opinion polls; voting records; surveys on family growth and income; social network data; government statistics and indices; and GIS data measuring human activity.
Digital Object Identifier (DOI)
Make note the DOI number, the persistent identifiers that ensures future access to unique published articles.

Education Research Complete
Check box to limit to "Scholarly(Peer Reviewed) Journals. Add "this study " to your search terms.
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.

ERIC (EBSCOhost Interface)
Database covers discriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. Under "Limit your results" change PUBLICATION TYPE to "Reports - Research."
PsycINFO 1967-
Database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law , medicine, and social work.
Under "Limit your results" change METHODOLOGY to "Empirical study." Add "this study" to your search terms.

SocINDEX
SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Check box to limit to "Scholarly(Peer-reviewed)Journals.
Add "this study" to your search terms.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.