Writing Styles: Books

Types of articles -- Manuscript preparation -- References -- Visual presentation of data -- Ethical and legal considerations -- Editorial assessment and processing -- Grammar -- Punctuation -- Plurals -- Capitalization -- Correct and preferred usage -- Non-english words, phrases, and accent marks -- Medical indexes -- Abbreviations -- Nomenclature -- Eponyms -- Greek letters -- Units of measure -- Numbers and percentages -- Study design and statistics -- Mathematical composition -- Typography -- Manuscript editing and proofreading -- Glossary of publishing terms -- Resources.

"A quick and simplified guide to the APA writing style"-- "Updated for APA 6th edition"-- Cover.

Chapters 3-4:
3. MLA documentation -- Citing sources in your paper, MLA style -- The MLA list of works cited -- Sample paper 4: a student's research paper, MLA style -- 4.APA, CSE, and Chicago documentation -- Citing sources in your paper, APA style -- APA list of references -- Sample paper 5: a student's research paper, APA style -- CSE style of documentation -- Sample paper 6: excerpt from a student's research paper, CSE style -- Chicago Manual of Style: endnotes, footnotes, and bibliography -- Sample paper 7: student's research paper, Chicago style -

Provides an authoritative account of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.

In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations.

What researches do and how they think about it -- Finding a research question -- Planning for an answer -- Finding useful sources -- Engaging sources -- Planning your argument -- Planning a first draft -- Drafting your paper -- Quoting, paraphrasing, and summarizing sources -- Preventing plagiarism -- Presenting evidence in tables and figures -- Revising your draft -- Writing your final introduction and conclusion -- Revising sentences -- Learning from your returned paper -- On the spirit of research -- Citations -- Chicago style -- MLA style -- PA style -- Spelling: plurals, possessives, and hyphenation -- Punctuation -- Titles, names, and numbers.

Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media

Outlines the key elements to include when referencing electronic sources, with an emphasis on using the digital object identifier (DOI) to locate web-based information reliably. Most important, it provides a wealth of examples for readers to model for everything from online journal articles to supplemental data sets and measurement instruments to books, videos, apps, websites, podcasts, blog posts, and social media.